FIFA Announce 24 Best 2017 World Player Candidates

FIFA has announced 24 players who became the candidate for World Player of 2017, Thursday (17/08/2017). In addition to Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who else is included in it?

As in previous years, the names of Ronaldo and Messi are still highly prized candidates. Ronaldo is more favored after successfully delivering Real Madrid won La Liga and Champions League last season.

In addition to Ronaldo, his six colleagues in Madrid, Keylor Navas, Marcelo, Dani Carvajal, Sergio Ramos, Luka Modric, and Toni Kroos, also entered the list of candidates. From Barcelona, ​​there are Neymar (last season), Luis Suarez, and Andres Iniesta.

The Premier League is represented by Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, N’Golo Kante, and Alexis Sanchez. Meanwhile, from Serie A there are Gianluigi Buffon, Paulo Dybala, and Leonardo Bonucci who last season brought Juventus to the scudetto and qualify for the Champions League final.

The 2017 World Player Candidates are selected by a panel of 11 world football legends, Cafu, Landon Donovan, Enzo Francescoli, Alex Frei, Hidetoshi Nakata, Diego Maradona, Jay Jay Okocha, Carles Puyol, Carlos Valderrama, Edwin van der Sar, and Ivan Vicelich.

The panel selected candidates based on their respective achievements in the 2016/2017 season, exactly on November 20, 2016 to July 2, 2017. The panel would have selected 23 candidates, but in the voting process between them there were two players who earned equal votes For the 23rd position. Therefore, the number of candidates increased to 24.

The 2017 World Player Award winner will be selected by national team captains, national team coaches, media representatives and fans. Each element will get 25 percent weight in the final result determination.

The voting process will open on August 21 and close on 7 September. FIFA will announce three candidates who become finalists in September.

Meanwhile, the 2017 World Player of the Year award will be awarded at The Best FIFA Football Awards in London, England, on October 23, 2017.

Full list of 2017 World Player candidates:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan, Juventus in 2016-17)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Without the club, Manchester United in 2016-17)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Marcelo (Real Madrid)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Keylor Navas (Real Madrid)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain, Barcelona in 2016-17)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)

Leave a Reply